Databases and Journals

(Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)
Evidence-based information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Medicine Service.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality includes research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Evidence-based Practice, Preventive Services, and Practice Guidelines are all part of this site.

(NIH)
Offers the latest federally approved information on HIV and AIDS research, clinical trials, and treatment for patients and health care providers. Includes the former ACTIS, AIDSTrials and AIDSDrugs databases.

(anatomyexpert)
Thousands of 3D models, illustrations, and photographs of the human body. Complete description of anatomy structures and audio pronounciation tool. Simple to use, but with ability to zoom, pan, drag, and rotate viewing angle if the image is 3D.

(Johns Hopkins University)
Produced by Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases, this database provides concise, clinically useful, and up-to-date information about the evaluation and treatment of infectious diseases in adults. It is free, but requires registration.

(Thomson Scientific)
BiologyBrowser, produced by Thomson Scientific, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community. It includes links to current science news stories, relevant web sites, and more.

(Buros)
The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements database provides a subject index, test locator and review locator for commercially published tests. Some content (including detailed reviews) is fee-based.

(NLM)
Chemical Carcinogensis Research Information Systems. Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute.

(NLM)
A database of 350,000 chemical records, including 56,000 with structures.

(DHS, HHS, NIH)
Information to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.

(NLM)
Current information about clinical research studies.

(OHSU)
An occupational safety and health resource directory sponsored by the Center for Research on Occupational and (OHSU)
Environmental Toxicology (CROET) at Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences. Links to hundreds of occupational safety and health resources focusing on day-to-day workplace issues.

(NLM)
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. Includes links to MedlinePlus, PubMed, and Clinical Trials.

(CrossRef)
CrossRef currently provides a number of ways for you to locate a DOI. If you have bibliographic data for an item and would like to find the DOI, use the Bibliographic metadata search. If you only have an article title and author, use the Search on an article title section. If you have the text of a bibliographic reference, try the Automatic parsing of a formatted reference search.

(OHSU)
DERP is a collaboration of public and private organizations, including thirteen states, that have joined together to provide systematic evidence-based reviews of the comparative effectiveness and safety of drugs in many widely used drug classes and to apply the findings to inform public policy and related activities.

(NLM)
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. It offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information, with links to individual resources with potential drug information and summaries tailored to various audiences. General drug categories from MeSH are also included in the Drug Portal records.

(eMedicine.com, Inc.)
Registration is required.

(AHRQ)
Complete reports from the Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC). The EPCs develop evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues — specifically those that are common, expensive, and/or significant for the Medicare and Medicaid populations.

(University of Washington/Harborview Medical Center)
Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website. Ethnomed contains medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, including patient education handouts in ten languages.

(NLM)
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.

(AHRQ)
Free to all -- a tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and state level.

(NLM)
Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases.

(HERO)
A free database of scientific studies and other references used to develop the EPA's risk assessments. Content is aimed at understanding the health and environmental effects of pollutants and chemicals.

(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
A free gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information.

(Center for Public Service Communication)
HealthReach is a national collaborative partnership that has created a database of quality multilingual, public health resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees. Resources include: Health education materials in various languages and formats (brochures, fact sheets, videos; Provider tools (including information on refugee populations, cultures); Links to related websites.

(NIH/US Department of Health and Human Services)
Information on the health effects of over 4,000 consumer brands, the ingredients in these products, and the names of the manufacturers.

(NLM)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank includes human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate and more.

(NLM)
A free resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. Includes guidelines and reports from U.S. and state government agencies.

(NLM)
IndexCat, the online version of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army (61 volumes in 5 series, 1880-1961), is a comprehensive subject catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, reports, and journal articles published from the 17th-20th century and held by NLM. Researchers will find material in IndexCat that is not in the National Library of Medicine's catalog (LocatorPlus).

(NIH)
Published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS is produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health to assist the public, health care providers, educators, and researchers in locating credible, scientific information on dietary supplements.

(NLM)
Integrated Risk Information System. Data from the EPA in support of human health risk assessment, focusing on hazard identification and dose-response assessment.

(NLM)
ITER is a database of human health risk values from major organizations worldwide for over 600 chemicals of environmental concern. It is part of TOXNET.

(NLM)
A database with information on drugs and lactation geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother. LactMed contains over 450 drug records. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider. It can also be accessed through TOXNET.

(NLM)
NLM's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles, for cataloging books and other holdings, and for searching MeSH-indexed databases.

(MSDS Solutions)
A searchable database which contains 1 million printable MSDSs in PDF format. Registration is free.

(NIH)
A database of structured descriptions of congenital abnormalities associated with mental retardation.

(National Rehabilitation Information Center)
Literature (research reports, books, articles, and audiovisuals)on both physical and mental disability and rehabilitation produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center.

(NIH)
Peer-reviewed cancer summaries (PDQ), a database of clinical trials (PDQ), cancer literature, NCI publications, links to other sites and more for patients, caregivers and researchers.

(AHRQ)
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

(NLM)
A searchable database of information about some of the research datasets and instruments/indices employed in health services search and the behavioral and social sciences.

(Pesticide Action Network North America)
The PAN Pesticides Database is resource for current toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides. Includes a chemical search which includes a link to a PubMed search, a product search, and a pesticide poisoning diagnostic tool.

(Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, The George Institute for Global Health)
A free database of over 17,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, including citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are assigned independent quality ratings.

(ResearchGate)
A free social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, BioMed Central, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more. Requires registration.

(DOE)
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Free to all.

(Elsevier)
A comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, searching more than 250 million science-related pages. Articles available for purchase.

(NLM)
A cluster of full text databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.

(TRIP Database, Ltd.)
The TRIP Database allows users to rapidly and easily identify high quality evidence-based medical literature from a wide range of sources. Use of the database is free; however, articles may not be.