AZHIN: Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Databases and EBP

Evidence-Based Practice Resource from CORE Library

Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane systematic reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Cochrane Library contains a field, called Cochrane Complementary Medicine, which tracks information on controlled trials on complementary medicine therapies. This information is available in the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, which is part of the Cochrane Library.

A description of the sources of these trials, and their characteristics, may be read here.

Drug Information Databases

Drug Information Portal
Provides a gateway to current and accurate drug information from NLM and to other key government agencies.
DailyMed
The official distribution mechanism for the latest electronic drug label information approved by the FDA."
TOXNET
An NIH resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Other Databases

PubMed (limited to CAM resources)
NCCAM and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) have partnered to create CAM on PubMed®, a subset of NLM's PubMed. PubMed provides access to citations from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources.
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
Formerly IBIDS, this PubMed subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models. Produced by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and NLM.
Medline Plus's Database of Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Search CORE Library

Evidence-Based Practice Resource from CORE Library

Drug Information Databases

Other Databases