AZHIN: Faculty Development: ACGME Basics

Spotlight:
Learning on Demand

Introduction to Milestones (25 min)

Laura Edgar, EdD, CAE
ACGME Vice President, Milestones Development
Learn at ACGME
Faculty (acgme.org) (login or create a free account)

More: Use and Potential Misuse of Milestones (Jnl Grad Med Educ 2021)

Common Program

The ACGME Common Progam Requirements are a basic set of standards (requirements) in training and preparing resident and fellow physicians. These requirements set the context within clinical learning environments for development of the skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary to take personal responsibility for the individual care of patients. In addition, they facilitate an environment where residents and fellows can interact with patients under the guidance and supervision of qualified faculty members who give value, context, and meaning to those interactions.

Milestones

The ACGME Milestones are a set of competency-based developmental outcomes that help residents and fellows demonstrate their knowledge, skills, attitudes, and performance. They are used for accreditation purposes and are intended to help improve educational, assessment, and accreditation processes. The Milestones are organized into six Core Competencies, which are in turn divided into subcompetencies and levels.

By Specialty
Milestones Implementation Guidebook
The Milestones Guidebook
Milestones Guidebook for Residents and Fellows
Use and Potential Misuse of Milestones (Jnl Grad Med Educ 2021)
FAQs

ACGME Core Competencies

Practice-based Learning and Improvement	Patient Care & Procedural Skills	Systems-based Practice
Medical Knowledge	Interpersonal & Communication Skills	Professionalism

The rationales for ACGME Core Competencies: Exploring the ACGME Core Competencies: Seven Part Series - NEJM Knowledge+ Blog. 2016.

More ACGME Resources

Glossary of Terms (03-June-2024)
Learn at ACGME: "Learning experiences designed to enhance your [faculty] expertise and support your professional growth."

Books

See a book you want, but it's not at your "home" HonorHealth library? Send details to Library@HonorHealth.com and we'll get it for you!

Teaching Rounds: a Visual Aid to Teaching Internal Medicine Pearls on the Wards (Access Medicine E-book) by Kumar & Law A unique manual for teaching and learning 100 of the most important topics encountered on rounds Teaching Rounds is a highly visual, carry-anywhere resource that enables residents in teaching hospitals to learn in an effective, memorable way without the need for a blackboard or dense text. The authors have identified the ten most important topics to discuss on rounds across ten specialties. Each topic is featured on its own, removable card that showcase a visual aid, case-base questions and answers, key clinical pearls, and references. Topics are further grouped into teaching categories, such as Diagnostic Approach, Disease Classification, and Pathophysiology, among others. If you are looking for a concise text that not only identifies need-to-know "pearls," but also simplifies how to teach and learn them, Teaching Rounds belongs in your lab coat pocket.   
Teaching in the Hospital by Jeff Wiese -- TPK Clinical Collection The complexity of hospitalized patients and the day-to-day issues that arise on inpatient services make teaching in the hospital as challenging as it is unique. Hospital-based medical educators (hospitalists and attending physicians) must be adaptable and teach a wide range of topics, all while administering effective patient care. Written by experts in the field, Teaching in the Hospital offers a unique perspective on the goals of inpatient teaching and practical advice for hospitalists and attendings who teach on the wards. This book provides hospital-based educators with tools and techniques for: Establishing and communicating expectations and responsibilities Conducting rounds to ensure education complements patient care Enhancing learning by using illustrations, analogies, mnemonics, and other "tricks of the trade" Coaching learners in the science of clinical reasoning, communication, time management, and interpersonal relations This unique book includes clinical problem-based "teaching scripts" illustrating the dialogues that can take place around 15 of the most frequently encountered inpatient clinical problems. A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.
Teaching Clinical Reasoning by Trowbridge, Rencic & Durning (Ed) -- TPK Clinical Collection Chapter topics include: Clinical Reasoning and Diagnostic Error Theoretical Concepts to Consider in Providing Clinical Reasoning Instruction Developing a Curriculum in Clinical Reasoning Educational Approaches to Common Cognitive Errors General Teaching Techniques Assessment of Clinical Reasoning Faculty Development and Dissemination Lifelong Learning in Clinical Reasoning Remediation of Clinical Reasoning Novel Approaches and Future Directions Teaching Clinical Reasoning: Where do we go from here?
Methods for Teaching Medicine by Skeff & Stratos -- TPK Clinical Collection Teaching medicine is highly gratifying yet enormously complex. Medical teachers must be concerned with teaching a large amount of ever-changing content in a variety of settings, while ensuring that the needs of the patient and learner are being met. Methods for Teaching Medicine explores not only the traditional methods of teaching medicine but also those that are more cutting edge and identifies the criteria teachers can use to decide which method to use. Exploring the most important instructional methods of modern medical education, this book includes: A systematic framework for understanding medical teaching developed by world-class medical educators Innovative ideas for matching goals of teaching with specific formats of instruction Advantages and limitations of a variety of teaching methods, including lectures, small-group discussions, and workshops Tips for preparing and presenting effective lectures, creative ideas for organizing workshops, and insightful guidelines for leading small-group discussions New approaches to continuing professional development A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.
Mentoring in Academic Medicine by Holly J. Humphrey -- TPK Clinical Collection Mentoring students, residents, and faculty and supporting their professional development are topics of great concern among leaders in medical education. Offering knowledge and insight from a range of experienced physician-educators and others involved in medical education, Mentoring in Academic Medicine provides a unique perspective on medical professionalism in the coming decades as well as a comprehensive approach to developing programs for mentorship and guidance. Illustrated with realistic cases and examples, this book provides: Insight into effective mentoring relationships and fostering professionalism Guidelines for developing mentoring programs for students, residents, and clinical and research faculty A consideration of the issues that arise related to mentoring special groups Multiple perspectives on role modeling and guiding others to be successful in their careers A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.