CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 by
The #1 annually updated general medical text--presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves house staff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and house staff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2023! Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
| Samier Deen DO, Paul Gilbert MD, Kush Agrawal MD, Abby Borhan MD. “Quadri‐chamber thrombi and impending paradoxical embolism: Thrombus in transit through patent foramen ovale” JACC Case Rep. 2024 Jan 30;29(5):102226. Link to article. |
| Seema Jain, MD. "The intersection of childcare and health among women at a U.S. safety-net health system during the COVID-19 pandemic: A qualitative study" Health Equity. 2024 Jan;8(1):32‐38. Link to article. |
| Dania A Shah MD, Rustan Sharer MD, Dana Sall MD, Alethea Turner DO, Dmitry Bisk MD, Wesley Peng, Benjamin Gifford DO, Priya Radhakrishnan MD. "Racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic differences in primary care no-show risk with telemedicine during the COVID-19 pandemic". J Gen Intern Med. 2023 Sep;38(12):2734-2741. Link to article. |
HonorHealth Residents are eligible to take IHI Open School courses, including any from the 13-module curriculum for a Basic Certificate in Quality and Safety.
|
Interested? HonorHealth Residents / Fellows follow these steps:
|
* Courses of interest include:
|
Have you tried JAMAevidence?JAMAevidence is an online medical resource designed to support the teaching, learning and application of evidence-based medicine by honing your ability to identify, appraise, and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health care. Included are textbooks, education guides, calculators, critical appraisal and information cycle worksheets, and more... NOTE: Most resources are available off campus. To access additional features, a free MyAccess login is required. Sign up here. |
podcasts |
procedure videos |
| ACP Internal Medicine Podcasts | ClinicalKey Procedure Videos |
| American Society of Nephrology | AccessMedicine Procedural Videos |
| American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology | |
| Annals on Call | |
| Clinical Problem Solvers | |
| Harrison's Podclass (AccessMedicine) | |
| Run the List (AccessMedicine) | |
| S2D: Symptoms to Diagnosis Podcast (AccessMedicine) |
Antibiotic Resistance by
Antibiotic Resistance: Mechanisms and New Antimicrobial Approaches discusses up-to-date knowledge in mechanisms of antibiotic resistance and all recent advances in fighting microbial resistance such as the applications of nanotechnology, plant products, bacteriophages, marine products, algae, insect-derived products, and other alternative methods that can be applied to fight bacterial infections. Understanding fundamental mechanisms of antibiotic resistance is a key step in the discovery of effective methods to cope with resistance. This book also discusses methods used to fight antibiotic-resistant infection based on a deep understanding of the mechanisms involved in the development of the resistance.
Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Accurately interpret cardiovascular images for fast, effective emergency management This unique combination atlas and text is a concise guide to acute care cardiovascular image interpretation for the diagnosis and management of emergency conditions. Each condition or disorder is described in a consistently designed, well-illustrated section. Concise, bulleted text details clinical highlights, emergency department treatment and disposition, and clinical pearls and pitfalls. Created for use at the point of care, Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is enhanced by more than 400 images, many in full color. Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is logically divided into nine chapters: Anatomy Electrocardiography: Normal Heart, Ischemic and Chronic Vascular Disease Principles of Cardiovascular Imaging Devices Arrhythmias Vascular Disease Cardiomyopathies Pediatric Cardiology Procedures
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease by
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease, Second Edition, focuses on the basic and clinical research of biomarkers in common kidney diseases, detailing the characteristics of an ideal biomarker. The latest techniques for biomarker detection, including metabolomics and proteomics are covered in the book. This comprehensive book details the latest advances made in the field of biomarker research and development in kidney diseases. The book is an ideal companion for those interested in biomarker research and development, proteomics and metabolomics, kidney diseases, statistical analysis, transplantation, and preeclampsia. New chapters include biomarkers of cardiovascular disease in patients with CKD, biomarkers of Polycystic Kidney Disease, and biomarkers and the role of nanomedicine.
Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cardiology: an Integrated Approach by
An innovative, cardiology-specific text that blends basic science with the fundamentals of clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Cardiology: An Integrated Approach to Disease skillfully bridges the gap between the science and practice of medicine. This beautifully illustrated book seamlessly integrates the core elements of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathology with clinical medicine. It is the perfect companion for medical students transitioning to their clinical years, as well as for practicing physicians who need a user-friendly update on the basic science underlying the practice of clinical medicine. Full-color design includes approximately 340 images and 40 tables Cases teach students how to apply principles to real-world patient situations The latest developments in the field are incorporated throughout the text End-of-chapter case-based questions with detailed explanations reinforce important concepts and assess understanding of the material
Clinical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy by
Now thoroughly up-to-date both in print and online, Clinical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Vinay Chandrasekhara, Mouen Khashab, B. Joseph Elmunzer, and V. Raman Muthusamy, ensures that you stay current with the latest technology and techniques in GI endoscopy. An all-new editorial team, newly updated videos and images, and a reorganized format make this reference an easy-to-use source of reliable information on a full range of topics, including anatomy, pathophysiology, and therapeutic management options, in addition to the latest GI procedures and technologies. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of bariatric surgery, therapeutic EUS, device-assisted enteroscopy, image-guided therapy, intramural endotherapy, and much more. Features 100 updated videos with author voiceovers, as well as 1,000 revised photographs, endoscopic images, and anatomical drawings. Provides a fresh perspective and expert guidance from an entirely new editorial team. Includes many more references per chapter, as well as further references online. Presents material in a newly restructured, organ-based format for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
COVID-19 and the Heart: a Case-Based Pocket Guide by
From frontline experts on the topic--everything you need to know about COVID-19 and how it affects the heart COVID-19's effect on the cardiovascular system continues to drive increases in morbidity and mortality. Building a solid understanding of the disease spectrum is critical for accurately diagnosing, treating, and managing patients with heart issues in the time of COVID. Written by a team of experts who worked on the frontlines in New York City throughout the worst of the pandemic, COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide is a one-of-a-kind resource for providing safe, effective care for COVID-19-related heart conditions. Designed for quick and easy learning and on-the-spot clinical decision making, this practical guide is organized into chapters based on genuine clinical cases and provides the best approach for each one. The authors highlight key points throughout the clinical content for easy review, and provide up-to-date information on clinical trials/vaccines, diagnostic and treatment algorithms, therapeutics, monitoring, and patient education. Ideal for healthcare workers actively engaged in the ongoing pandemic and students seeking to build their expertise, COVID-19 and the Heart is the go-to guide to making the right clinical judgments with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19. COVID-19 and the Heart starts with the physiology of COVID-related heart disease, and walks you through COVID's effect on: ACS Valvular heart disease Arrythmia Pericardial disease Heart failure Shock Thromboembolism Hypertension
Decision-Making in Adult Neurology by
Written by neurologists for neurologists, Decision-Making in Adult Neurology provides practical guidance when encountering patients whose clinical presentation is unfamiliar or complex, or whose treatment path is not completely certain. This useful handbook is filled with diagnostic and treatment algorithms that encourage you to think systematically and follow a logical sequence through the steps necessary for efficient and effective decision-making. Outlines the key decision points in patient management, providing a wealth of systematic information that ensures you take into account the proper physical signs and test results that will guide your recommendations. Contains 119 algorithms covering symptoms and signs, specific neurologic conditions, vascular disorders, seizures, head trauma, neoplastic disease, peripheral nervous disorders, and muscle disease. Accompanies each algorithm with brief text that explains the significance of important decision points. Provides step-by-step decision-making guidelines for testing and management of paraneoplastic diseases, choice of initial MS therapy, evaluation of incidentally discovered MRI white matter lesions, management of asymptomatic carotid stenosis, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Diabetes in Cardiovascular Disease: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Diabetes in Cardiovascular Disease is a current, expert resource focusing on the complex challenges of providing cardiovascular care to patients with diabetes. Designed as a companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, this interdisciplinary medical reference book bridges the gap between the cardiology and endocrinology communities of scientists and care providers, and highlights the emerging scientific and clinical topics that are relevant for cardiologists, diabetologists/endocrinologists, and the extended diabetes care team. Access essential coverage of basic and clinical sciences, complemented by an expanded focus on epidemiology, behavioral sciences, health policy, and disparities in health care. Take advantage of a format that follows that of the well-known and internationally recognized Braunwald's Heart Disease. Review the best available clinical data and pragmatic recommendations for the prevention and management of cardiovascular complications of diabetes; national/societal intervention strategies to curb the growing prevalence of diabetes; and the current pathophysiological understanding of cardiovascular comorbidities in patients with diabetes. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase.
Diabetes Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. A new volume in this trusted series, Diabetes Secrets offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. It features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Up-to-date coverage of the full range of topics in diabetes, including diabetes during pregnancy; diabetes management in cancer patients; diabetes management during exercise, sports, and competition; diabetes management in hospitalized patients, and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Written by global experts and thought leaders in diabetes. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ECG Core Curriculum by
An accessible how-to guide for reading and interpreting ECGs--from basic to advanced ECG Core Curriculum sets the new standard for electrocardiography interpretation. This unique resource is an essential instructional guide for anyone who needs to learn this vital skill, including medical students, practicing physicians, nurses, emergency medical technicians, and allied medical professionals. Each chapter begins with basic concepts, which build the foundation for a comprehensive discussion of every major ECG abnormality, and includes a self-test to reinforce your learning. A special bonus is the comprehensive section of diagnostic criteria. The text concludes with a final examination that is perfect for board review. ECG Core Curriculum covers: Functional anatomy, physiology and electrophysiology Using vectors to understanding electrocardiographic patterns Chamber enlargement Bundle branch block and conduction abnormalities Accessory pathways and pre-excitation Myocardial ischemia and infarction Pericarditis and infarction imitators Using laddergrams to understand the mechanism of arrhythmias Supraventricular and ventricular arrhythmias Heart block and pacemaker electrocardiography An approach to wide complex tachycardia, and more Covering from the basics to advanced topics, ECG Core Curriculum is the ultimate guide perfect for every health care professional.
Essentials of Modern Neuroscience by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Bridge the gap between basic and clinical science with this authoritative guide to neuroscience Created by an expert team of neuroscience educators, this comprehensive guide delivers the knowledge and insight you need to build your understanding of neuroscience--quickly and easily. Divided into two parts, the guide offers a thorough treatment of the basic science of the anatomy and function of the nervous system, as well an extended treatment of nervous system disorders and therapeutics. Packed with 500 color illustrations, Essentials of Modern Neuroscience provides both clinical content and numerous cases in an engaging, simple-to-understand style. It includes the strong pedagogy that makes LANGE basic science titles so popular and provides chapter-opening Learning Objectives, bulleted chapter summaries, and application boxes. Covers both basic science and clinical cases for full mastery of the topic Organized to mirror the way medical schools teach neuroscience Presents information in a way that fosters maximum retention Unique chapters cover addiction, affective disorders, and neurologic diseases
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates
Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 by
Written by physicians and scientists with expertise in this evolving area, Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 provides a coherent, readable, and clinically relevant review of the biology, epidemiology, pathophysiology, immunology, clinical features, current treatment, and prevention strategies for the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Using both a systemic and topic-based approach, it summarizes and clarifies the extensive literature published on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19, includes a comprehensive bibliography, and provides answers to clinical questions at the point of care from multiple specialty perspectives. Includes dedicated chapters for pulmonary, cardiac, neurological, and oral manifestations of COVID-19. Covers therapeutics and novel therapeutic targets of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19. Addresses the diagnostic and management challenges of COVID-19 in the emergency department. Discusses COVID-19 in special populations, including the effect of SARS-CoV-2 infection in pregnant mothers and to the fetus and newborn. Provides a systematic overview and comparison of vaccines that are approved and in development. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Residents have access to a variety of exam prep materials in our electronic and print collection. We have print MKSAP sets and other study guides and textbooks. AccessMedicine is a comprehensive resource for self-assessment. It incorporates a variety of study modalities, such as case-based board review, quizzes and flashcards based on textbooks and basic topics, an extensive multimedia library of procedural videos and lectures, and more.
Our EBSCO books collection also offers review books for various specialties. Reach out to a librarian for more information.
NOTE: Most resources are available off campus. To access the Study Tools Menu items, a free MyAccess login is required. Sign up here
Browse e-Journals to search for more
