Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HonorHealth Library Services: Off-Site Access / Mobile

Launched 15-NOV-2019

Reach out to us any time!  Library@HonorHealth.com / 480-583-0610 / More information

Off-Site Access / Mobile

 ClinicalKey

A collection of the large, medical publisher Elsevier's journal and book content available in full-text for HonorHealth-affiliated users. Users can search Medline and textbooks, guidelines, multimedia, and retrieve full-text items from the curated collection of Elsevier-published materials. Included is patient education, drug monographs and clinical overviews suitable for quick reference or sharing with patients.

 Access Info & More...

 UpToDate

Physician-authored reviews intended to provide quick reference on conditions, with emphsis on diagnosis, management, and treatment. It's a clinical decision tool for physicians and others involved in the practice of medicine like nurse practitioners and physician assistants. UpToDate also includes patient education materials written at different reading levels, drug information, and quick updates on important, practice-changing research and newer guidelines.

 Access Info & More...

 AccessMedicine 

Offers access to a small subset of Access Medicine's resources: AccessEmergency Medicine, AccessMedicine. Requires you to create a MyAccess personal login in the web version of AccessMedicine to activate the app.

Access Info & More...

 Lippincott's Nursing Procedures

HonorHealth's chosen resource for point-of-care procedures for nursing staff. Lippincott's Nursing Procedures has step-by-step instructions for bedside procedures and skills done by nursing, physical therapy, and respiratory therapy staff. This is an evidence-based reference tool for protocols, procedures and skills that our nursing staff is expected to perform following national guidelines and Magnet© requirements. 

Access Info & More...

   Micromedex

A drug search engine providing information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. Results can be tailored to provide specific information at either a summary or technical, in-depth level. Indispensable for pharmacists and clinicians, but it also provides materials accessible to the patient curious about their prescription and in need of education. 

Access Info & More...

 STAT!Ref®

Cross-search more than 600 fully -interactive resources, including full-text information from a variety of top healthcare publishers and societies. Use evidence-based clinical decision tools when and where they are needed, at the point-of-care. 

Access Info & More...

Useful Apps

  READ by QXMD

A tool allowing you to create a list of topics and journals to follow, and then browse the latest articles on your topics of interest through the home screen. Using your Athens account login, you can access articles included in HH journal subscriptions (connect with the HonorHealth John C. Medical Center listing, no matter your campus). You can star, save and comment on articles and email your favorite librarian to request articles you don't have immediate access to.   More information...

 Choosing Wisely 

An initiative of the ABIM Foundation, this app is useful for both patient and clinician decision making. The physician side is a reference tool with searchable evidence-based recommendations across specialties. The patient side is topics discussing tests and treatment, with special attention paid to cost saving and necessary steps for evaluation and treatment of conditions.  More information...

 

    References on Tap 

For Apple product users only, this app functions as a portal to multiple search engines and sites including PubMed, Web of Science,Google Scholar, JSTOR, Library of Congress and Amazon. Users can find abstracts and documents (if available full-text) and then save to iCloud, annotate or group the references by project or author.  More information...

Off-site Access to Databases, Journals, and Electronic Books

 Open Athens

OpenAthens is an authentication service that allows you off-site access to most of our journals and databases.  

Check elsewhere on this web page for information about off-site access to resources that do not use OpenAthens, such as UpToDate, Access Medicine, and ClinicalKey.

What is OpenAthens? printable PDF

 

To Request an OpenAthens Account: 

Are you an employee, staff member, affiliated physician or a student doing a clinical rotation at HonorHealth? Please follow the steps below. 

If you are a member of the public, please contact the library staff to learn how we can help you. 

1)  Complete our request form. In a few days, OpenAthens will contact you by email and so will an HonorHealth librarian.  The emails have instructions about how to activate your account.

2) Save these emails for future reference.

3) Bookmark the login page.