|
Zotero download / setup / how to use (Harvard University Libraries) ►Sources & Citations in one place ►Citations automatically formatted: Save time! ►Sync to the Cloud: Use any time, anywhere ►Free! |
"Organizing is what you do before you do something, so that when you do it, it is not all mixed up." (A.A. Milne)
|
HonorHealth Libraries Data Management Guide Find out more about what data management is, how to gather information about a Data Management Plan, best practices for naming data, and how you can store and share your data to promote research quality and reproducibility. |
|
Talk with your HonorHealth Librarian |
Research QI Patient Safety
| What Are You Doing? | ||
| Research (Res) | Quality Improvement (QI) | Patient Safety (PS) |
| Tools for Research | Tools for QI | Tools for PS |
From ideas to studies how to get ideas and sharpen them into research questions (Clin Epidemiol) (This is in sharepoint)
Introduction to Research in Residency (NEJM 360) Focused, practical guideline. NOT in sharepoint
Living Textbook of Pragmatic Clinical Trials: Rethinking Clinical Trials (National Institutes of Health) The challenges in pragmatic clinical trials differ from traditional clinical trials. This living textbook is a "collection of knowledge from the NIH Pragmatic Trials Collaboratory." NOT in sharepoint
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (National Institutes of Health) NCATS conducts research and supports activities that address long-standing challenges in translational research so that new treatments and other health solutions reach people faster.NOT in sharepoint
Books in the Libraries
Clinical Research for the Doctor of Nursing Practice by
Clinical Research for the Doctor of Nursing Practice, Second Edition offers a streamlined approached to application based clinical research and the development of the capstone project. The text allows for a hands-on approach through its inclusion of sample research studies that encourage analysis and an overall understanding of the nursing research process. The Second Edition features new research studies as well as instruction on motivational interviewing, conducting an organizational assessment as well as how to work with a committee to craft a research proposal.This text is appropriate for any DNP course focused on research including the Capstone course. New to the Second Edition: How to critique a research article How to form the research committee How to use motivational interviewing as a data collection technique How to review a manuscript submitted for publication How to conduct an organizational assessment How to accurately evaluate research How to develop the project proposal
Call Number: Osborn & Shea - WY 18.5 T32 2012Publication Date: 2014-08-20
Designing Clinical Research by
Designing Clinical Research has been extensively revised and continues to set the standard as a practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. It presents advanced epidemiologic concepts in a reader-friendly way, and suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing. New to this edition: Expanded and updated content in every chapter, with new material on: * non-inferiority trials for comparative effectiveness research * incidence-density case-control studies * confounding and effect modification * diagnostic test studies to inform prediction rules * ethical aspects of whole genome sequencing * automated data management approaches * new NIH grant-writing requirements Color format, and Electronic access, powered by Inkling(tm) as a free companion to the text * viewable through your browser or as a download to tablet or smartphone * the complete text with optimized navigation * note-sharing, highlighting and bookmarking capability * cross-linking of references and content * rapid search options linked to the new glossary
Call Number: EBSCO e-BookPublication Date: 2013-07-10
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research (E-Book) by
This practical guide speaks to two audiences: those who read and those who conduct research. Clinicians are medical detectives by training. For each patient, they assemble clinical clues to establish causes of signs and symptoms. The task involves both clinical acumen and knowledge of medical research. This book helps guide clinicians through this detective work, by enabling them to make sense of research and to review medical literature critically. It will also be invaluable to researchers who conduct clinical research, particularly randomized controlled trials. Building on previously published, peer-reviewed articles from The Lancet, this handbook is essential for busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods. Written by leaders in the field of clinical research who have published extensively with authorship of hundreds of articles in medical journals. The authorship includes one of the three authors of the CONSORT guidelines for the reporting of randomized controlled trials. The book presents the essential concepts to a wide array of topics including randomized control trials, descriptive studies, cohort studies, case-control studies, bias, and screening tests. The book utilises a readable and humorous prose style, lightening what can be a difficult area for clinical readers. Derived from decades of teaching clinical research in seminar settings the book will empower clinicians to make sense of, and critically appraise, current medical research and will enable researchers to enrich the quality of their work. For this Second Edition, the authors have revised and updated the original 16 chapters and added six new chapters. For busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods, this book provides helpful tools to derive satisfaction - indeed, fun - from clinical science.
Call Number: Clinical Key; requires loginPublication Date: 2018-10-03
Evaluating Clinical Research: All that glitters is not gold by
The objective of this book is to make its readers better informed and more critical consumers of clinical research to help them recognize the strengths and the weaknesses of scientific publications. In doing so, the reader will be able to distinguish patient-important and methodologically sound studies from those having limitations in design, conduct and interpretation. There are no prerequisites for reading this book. The text is basic and has no statistical formulas. Key take-home messages are listed at the end of each chapter. The large number of cartoons has two purposes: First, to make the text easier to read and generate a few laughs and, second, to underscore specific points, sometimes in a provocative way.
Call Number: Osborn - W 20.5 F983e 2007Publication Date: 2007-08-02
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research (Print & e-Book formats) by
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research, Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised to provide a comprehensive look at both the fundamental principles and expanding practice of clinical research. New to this edition of this highly regarded reference, authors have focused on examples that broadly reflect clinical research on a global scale while including a discussion of international regulations, studies, and implications.In addition to key topics such as bioethics, clinical outcome data, cultural diversity, protocol guidelines, and "omic platforms, this edition contains new chapters devoted to electronic health records and information resources for clinical researchers, as well as the many opportunities associated with big data. Covering a vast number of topics and practical advice for both novice and advanced clinical investigators, this book is a highly relevant and essential resource for all those involved in conducting research.- Features input from experts in the field dedicated to translating scientific research from bench to bedside and back- Provides expanded coverage of global clinical research- Contains hands-on, practical suggestions, illustrations, and examples throughout- Includes new chapters on the international regulation of drugs and biologics, the emergence of the important role of comparative effectiveness research and how to identify clinical risks and manage patient safety in a clinical research setting
Call Number: Osborn - W 20.5 P957 2007
Publishing and presenting clinical research (Print or E-Book formats) by Call Number: Shea -WZ 345 B884 2012ISBN: 9781469874357
Understanding Clinical Research (E-Book) by Call Number: Access Medicine: May require using an HonorHealth computerPublication Date: 2013-06-11
Handbook for clinical research : design, statistics, and implementation by Call Number: EBSCO e-BookPublication Date: 2014
