Skip to Main Content
Cummings Graduate Institute logo

 CREATE ACCOUNT  LOG IN

Banner image with CORE Library logo

Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar LogoGoogle Scholar is a powerful academic search engine that offers numerous benefits to researchers, students, and academic, with some useful benefits.

  1. Comprehensive Access to Academic Literature: Google Scholar provides access to a vast range of academic literature, including research papers, theses, conference papers, books, and patents. It indexes material from various sources, including academic publishers, institutional repositories, and university websites. This comprehensive coverage allows users to find relevant and up-to-date scholarly content on a wide range of topics, making it a valuable resource for conducting literature reviews and staying informed about the latest research in various fields.

  2. Easy Citation Tracking and Metrics: Google Scholar automatically tracks citations of academic papers and displays the number of times a particular publication has been cited by other researchers. It's like keeping tabs on how often a research paper or academic article gets mentioned or referenced by other researchers.  While the primary use of citation tracking is for authors to gauge the significance and reach of their work, it is equally useful for students who may want to find additional research on the topics in the article, simply by seeing who else has cited the work.  It allows the student to easily see who else is building on the original author's ideas.

Access EBSCO / CORE Library Resources through Google Scholar

It is possible to access EBSCO resources (the databases available through the CORE Library) through Google Scholar.  To do so, you will need to set up your CGI Google account to indicate when search results from Google Scholar can be read in full text in the CORE Library.

  1. Ensure that you have signed in to the CORE Library via the CGI portal at my.cgi.edu.  This is so Google Scholar will know which Google account to link to.
  2. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com/
  3. Click on the Settings link at the top of the page
  4. In the Library Links section, type Cummings in the search box
  5. Click Find Library
  6. Put a check mark in the box that reads Cummings Graduate Institute for Behavioral Health Studies.  Leave the box for Open WorldCat checked.
  7. Click Save to save the settings.

Search for Cummings and click on Cummings Graduate Institute.

If you have access to other libraries, you can authorize up to five institutions of your choice.

Full Text in Google Scholar

Searching in Google Scholar is as easy as typing a query into the search box [1].  Results will appear in a list [2].

If an item is available in full text in the library, a link for CORE Full Text will appear on the right [3].  Simply click on that link to be taken to the article in the CORE Library.

Note:  you must be an enrolled student or faculty/staff member to use the CORE Library; you may have to sign in to the CGI portal first to access library resources.