Clinical Scenarios in Surgery
Current Surgical Therapy by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by
Demanding surgical situations require expert advice from pioneers in the field as well as from those on the front lines of trauma care. Practical and evidence-based, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 2nd Edition, draws on the experience of Drs. Juan A. Asensio and Donald D. Trunkey to offer a comprehensive, contemporary summary of the treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. The concise format makes it ideally suited for everyday use, and new, full-color illustrations highlight the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, including ventilator management, damage control, noninvasive techniques, imaging, infection control, dealing with mass casualties, and treating injuries induced by chemical and biological agents. "I would recommend it as worthwhile reading and a valuable reference for anyone involved in the care of the trauma patient." Foreword by: Jeffrey T. Sugimoto, Creighton University, June 2015 Stay informed on a wide variety of key topics - more than in any other existing text on trauma and critical care surgery. Consult this title for a quick overview before you enter the OR or ICU, and use it as a review tool for board certification and recertification. Review the essential principles of diagnosis and treatment, as well as the specifics of surgical therapy - useful for surgeons across all specialties. Review and access the most comprehensive operative approaches and techniques by master trauma surgeons. This textbook, like no other, places a great deal of emphasis on the surgical techniques required to manage the most complex injuries. Its new and updated sections on vascular injuries, as well as its many operative illustrations and figures, provide a comprehensive guide for these techniques. Access practical and up-to-date information on the most important aspects of trauma surgical care, including operative management and surgical critical care strategies and protocols including ventilator management, damage control, noninvasive techniques, imaging, infection control. This textbook provides the latest information to deal with mass casualties and injuries induced by chemical and biological agents, making it a unique reference source. Explore recent developments in imaging technology that have led to many new interventional techniques for the placement of tracheostomy, gastrostomy, and insertion of IVC filters. Stay up to date on new ventilatory techniques, including high-frequency jet ventilation (HFJV) as well as acute release pressure-related ventilation (APRV). Easily visualize complex topics with full-color images and high-quality surgical illustrations throughout the text. Take advantage of evidence-based practice guidelines integrated into the text whenever possible, as well as the comprehensive utilization of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma - Organ Injury Scales (AAST-OIS). Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase.
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! \ Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
Gunshot Wounds
Maingot's Abdominal Operations
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Surgical Review by
Make the most of your study time preparing for the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination (ABSITE), written boards, and certification! The 4th Edition of The Surgical Review is a concise yet comprehensive review tool that keeps you up to date with surgical practice and current exams. Short, to-the-point chapters highlight all of the basic science and clinical science you need to know to perform at your best and improve your test scores. Every chapter is co-authored by a resident and an attending physician at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, and the table of contents is organized to match the current exam.Key Features More than 300 full-color illustrations complement the text, improve retention of key concepts, and facilitate quick review. Key Points located at the beginning of each chapter for a rapid overview or last-minute reference now target both junior residents and senior residents, with specific information for each. Thoroughly updated throughout , including new information on endovascular therapies. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Top Knife
Washington Manual of Surgery
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations
Browse e-Journals to search for more
|
Kimberli Bruce NP, Alicia Mangram MD, Joseph F. Sucher MD, Charles D. Balcome NP, Laura Prokuski MD, James Dzandu Ph.D., Gina R. Shirah, MD. "Consequences of anemia in geriatric hip fractures: How low is too low?" Trauma Surg Acute Care Open. 2024 Feb;9(1):e001175. Link to article |
|
Alicia Mangram MD. 72nd Southwestern Surgical Congress Claude H. Organ, Jr. Memorial Lecture: “Rise of Acute Care Robotic Surgery for Common Emergency General Surgery Conditions” Am J Surg. 27-OCT-2021 Link to abstract |
|
Joseph Weinberg MD, James Goldhardt PA-C, and Stacie Patterson PA, “ Assessment of accuracy of an early artificial intelligence large language model at summarizing medical literature: ChatGPT 3.5 vs. ChatGPT 4.0” Jrnl of Med AI. 2024 Jul 15 Link to article. |
|
John Kepros MD, Susan Haag Ph.D, and Stacie Patterson PA, “Compliance Prediction of a Novel Head Protection Device for Elderly Patients with Fall Risk” Am Surg. 2023 Mar 10 Link to article. |
videos |
blogs |
podcasts |
|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
||
Operative Techniques: Foot and Ankle Surgery by
This multimedia resource offers you all the how-to step-by-step guidance you need to perform all of the latest and best techniques in foot and ankle surgery. The complete, lavishly illustrated volume is made even better with a state-of-the-art companion web site! Large full-color intraoperative photos, diagrammable illustrations, dedicated website, and companion DVD demonstrate procedures. This concise, accessible multimedia resource shows you what you need to know and how to do it all. The result is a detailed, easy-to-use reference that no orthopedic surgeon should be without. This is a title in the Operative Techniques series. Please visit www.operativetechniques.com for more information. Provides expert coverage of total ankle arthroplasty, revision surgery, and post-operative care and expected outcomes. Focuses on quick access to essential information, using an up-to-date, clean layout; a bulleted, highly templated format; and large, full-color intraoperative photos and illustrations. Presents essential information often overlooked in other procedural guides, such as positioning, exposures, instrumentation, and implants. Discusses pearls and pitfalls with an emphasis on optimizing outcomes to refine your technique and learn the experts' approach to getting the best results. Covers more than 25 new procedures, including Revision Hallux Valgus Surgery, Arthroscopic Fusion of the Great Toe, and Peroneal Tendinopathy with Allograft. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Techniques: Hand and Wrist Surgery by
Thoroughly revised to bring you up to date with the latest techniques in the field, Operative Techniques Hand and Wrist Surgery, 4th Edition, expertly covers the essential procedures you are mostly likely to employ in everyday practice. This well-regarded, atlas-style volume provides an efficient review of the scope of hand surgery, including every potential patient scenario, while updated indications and techniques equip you to treat the full range of upper extremity disorders. Enhanced procedural videos, produced and narrated by Dr. Chung himself, help guide the essence and key aspects of an operation and are included in most chapters. Combines brief bulleted descriptions of surgical procedures with excellent procedural videos, full-color intraoperative photographs, and detailed surgical diagrams. Radiographs and MR images show presenting problems and post-surgical outcomes. Features all-new videos and extensive new content and images throughout. Covers key topics such as tissue transplantation, tendon and nerve transfer for spinal cord injury, wide awake approach for tendon transfers, total wrist arthroplasty, and techniques for fixing Bennett and Rolando fractures. Features tips, pearls, and pitfalls from the authors that enable you to improve your technique and optimize outcomes. Presents multiple approaches for the surgical repair of each disorder, ranging from the least to the most invasive procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
