First Aid for the Family Medicine Boards, Third Edition by
The "insider's guide" to passing the Family Medicine Boards -- now more high yield than ever! Written by recent test takers, First Aid for the Family Medicine Boards, Third Edition delivers high-yield, concise coverage of thousands of board-tested topics along with practical exam-taking and study strategies. Presented in full-color throughout, this is the most comprehensive review available for family medicine in-service, certification, and recertification exams. Following the proven First Aid formula for success, this essential review is carefully edited to include the content most likely to be included on the exam, allowing readers to focus on what they really need to know and maximize their study time. The Third Edition is distinguished by a renewed focus on high-yield content and has been updated to reflect the very latest treatment guidelines in family medicine. A COMPLETE ONE-STOP REVIEW OF THE MOST FREQUENTLY TESTED TOPICS * Essential for certification or recertification preparation * Concise summaries of thousands of board-tested topics * Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and color illustrations * Resident-tested study strategies and test-taking tips * Mnemonics make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy * Rich full-color design * Key Facts in the margins reinforce must-know information * Integrated vignette Q&As prepare you for what you will see on exam day * Timely updates available at www.firstaidteam.com
Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2022! "The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, Third Edition, will be an invaluable addition to busy physicians' clinical libraries. Its wide-ranging topics covering the gamut of family medicine are thoroughly covered and efficiently organized for point-of-care use. This, as well as its useful and exceptional photographs, will make it a resource the clinician will reach for again and again during evaluation of unfamiliar conditions. Residents and students will find it particularly useful as they systematically broaden their experiences and fund of knowledge--well done! " --Family Medicine The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2023 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare professionals, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new chapters on leg edema and venous stasis, multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C), monoclonal antibodies, and genetic testing. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors and two new associate editors, Drs. Joel J. Heidelbaugh and Ernestine M. Lee, who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Greenberger's CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Fourth Edition by
The peerless guide to clinical management of digestive and liver diseases--updated to reflect the latest research and treatments Authoritative coverage of the entire spectrum of gastroenterology and hepatology conditions, including therapeutic advances in Barrett's esophagus, eosinophilic esophagitis, acute diarrheal disorders, peptic ulcer disease, hereditary gastrointestinal cancer syndromes, upper and lower gastrointestinal bleeding Written by expert faculty physicians at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital Presented in a streamlined style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless More than 90 full-color endoscopic and radiographic images enhance clinical decision-making and clarify imaging techniques Logical organization begins with a section on general concerns such as acute abdominal pain, then progresses to specific disease categories "Essentials of Diagnosis" bulleted lists deliver instant guidance on identifying both common and rare digestive disorders Updated references to recently-published clinically relevant articles Key information from related fields, including gastrointestinal surgery, and subspecialties such as liver transplantation, advanced endoscopy, bariatric surgery, inflammatory bowel disease, mast cell disease, toxicities of oncologic therapy, intestinal malabsorption, nutrition, and state of the art imaging High-yield overview of effective treatment approaches for both acute and chronic viral hepatitis provides key perspectives on improving patient outcomes
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants Features Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, 2nd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical, up-to-date guide to the diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of kidney problems and hypertension in adult patients "In contrast to many other books in this area, this one provides a concise yet comprehensive review of each topic without getting lost in too much detail..." - Doody's Review Service (review of previous edition) Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, Second Edition delivers incisive, ready-to-use management protocols and valuable therapeutic guidelines from authors who are recognized as the field's foremost authorities. This essential clinical companion features a practical learn-as-you-go approach to diagnosing and treating renal disorders and hypertension that combines disease management techniques with the latest proven therapies. *NEW! Chapter-ending clinically based Q&A *NEW CHAPTERS include The Kidney in Malignancy, Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder (CKD-MBD), Palliative Care Nephrology, and Clinical Pharmacology and the Kidney *Fifty-nine chapters deliver a one-of-a-kind overview of all major diseases and disorders, from end-stage renal disease to primary and secondary hypertension *Emphasizes the clinical aspects of kidney care, while also providing comprehensive discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Includes an important review of subspecialty considerations: dialysis, transplantation, critical care nephrology, interventional nephrology, palliative care nephrology, clinical renal pharmacology, as well as a new area of specialization - onco-nephrology *Consistently formatted chapters make it easy to locate the essential information you need on diagnosis, testing, disease processes, and the latest treatment and management strategies *Valuable as a clinical refresher or for board review *Strikes the perfect balance between clinical necessity and brevity
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, yet comprehensive source of current information on the medical problems of children --- from birth through adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2019! * A practical, up-to-date well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of the most commonly seen medical conditions in children * Excellent coverage of The Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP) curriculum used in pediatric clerkship * 46 chapters cover a wide range of topics, including neonatal medicine, child development and behavior, emergency and critical care medicine, and diagnosis and treatment of specific disorders according to major problems, etiologies, and organ systems * A wealth of tables and figures provide quick access to important information, such as acute and critical care procedures in the delivery room, the office, the emergency room, and the critical care unit; anti-infective agents, drug dosages, immunization schedules, differential diagnoses, and developmental disorders * Includes detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures * Complete with handy guide to normal laboratory values * Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format * Valuable to medical students, pediatric residents, pediatricians, family practitioners, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare providers who work with infants, children, and adolescents * Authors are practicing pediatricians to ensure that each chapter reflects the needs and realities of day-to-day practice
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. This go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. * Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines * NEW: Updates to guidelines for screening/prevention of ASCVD; anxiety disorders in children, pediatric obesity, chronic pain, neonatal hyperbilirubinemia; and osteoarthritis * NEW: Numerous topics have been added, including screening and prevention of eating disorders, COVID vaccination in pregnancy, prevention of pelvic floor dysfunction, management of chest pain, left ventricular thrombus, delirium * Guideline Discordance tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
DeGroot's Endocrinology by
Thoroughly updated to reflect today's recent advances in adult and pediatric endocrinology, DeGroot's Endocrinology, 8th Edition, remains the comprehensive, international reference of choice for today's endocrinologists and fellows. A full peer review of the previous edition, conducted by a largely new group of renowned editors, was used to update this trusted, two-volume resource. In-depth coverage of both basic and clinical aspects of endocrinology and up-to-date information on the treatment and management of endocrine disorders are provided by a diverse group of expert contributors from six continents. A full-color format and helpful algorithms summarize clinical decision-making and practical approaches to patient management. Organizes content by all the glands that regulate the endocrine system while integrating basic science and clinical presentations of disease. Includes new chapters: Anatomy and Physiology of the Hypothalmus and Pituitary, Differentiated Thyroid Cancer, Medullary Thyroid Cancer, Drugs that Affect Thyroid Function, Genetic Disorders of the Adrenal Cortex, Adrenal Pathology, Primary Aldosteronism, Transgender Healthcare, Erectile Dysfunction, Prevalence and Causes of Male Infertility, Sexual Dysfunction in the Female, Glucose Toxicity and Oxidative Stress. Emphasizes basic science and evidence-based practice throughout. Features extensive updates to content on thyroid and adrenal disfunction, endocrine-disrupting chemicals and human disease, clinical management of diabetes, and advances in genetics. Includes algorithms to outline effective treatment protocols. Contains new emphasis boxes that highlight key points in each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Ninth Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The bestselling, go-to guide to the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care--updated to reflect the latest developments in the field For more than three decades, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology has remained one of the bestselling dermatology books in the world. This concise, quick-reference guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students. Covering the most essential content on skin problems, this updated ninth edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment. Features: Extensively revised and expanded with new material Complete update of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy Over 1,000 full-color images Color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance ICD-10 codes are included for each disease Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations Bonus Content: Online videos
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by
Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. Contains a new chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Medicine in Older Adults, as well as completely revised or rewritten chapters on rehabilitation, infectious disease, and urinary incontinence. Provides up-to-date information on key topics such as opioid management and polypharmacy, the "geriatric emergency room,? cultural humility in the care of older adults, and the five signs of problematic substance abuse. Includes key learning objectives and USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Online extras include dizziness, gait, and balance video resources, a dermatology quiz, and a Cognitive Status Assessment with tests and patient teaching guides. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2023! Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations. How do these laws affect you, your practice, and patient care? Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients is ideally suited for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions concerned with addressing health disparities and caring for the underserved and vulnerable patient. Comprehensive in scope and authored by many of the leading names in the field, the book takes complex concepts and issues and helps you understand them, resulting in a "roadmap" to guide real-world applications and compliance with the terms of the law. Each chapter integrates key concepts, core competencies, and common pitfalls and concludes with useful lists of web resources and stimulating discussion questions. Highlights of the Second Edition:
Practical Office Orthopedics by
A comprehensive full-color guide to orthopedics in the primary care setting Especially written for the practitioner of general medicine, Practical Office Orthopedics delivers outstanding full-color drawings, state-of-the-art radiographs, and a step-by-step approach to the evaluation and management of common bone and musculoskeletal complaints. This unique text is authored by Dr. Edward (Ted) Parks, whose musculoskeletal workshop at the annual American College of Physicians Conference draws overflow crowds. Common injuries to the knee, the shoulder, the hip, hand/wrist/elbow, foot/ankle, and the spine are covered in detail. Readers will find a consistent chapter template that presents information logically and facilitates treatment and learning: History, Physical Exam, Radiography, Treatment, and Follow-Up. * Full-color presentation illustrates musculoskeletal anatomy and procedure in great detail * Includes discussion of common non-ultrasound guided joint injection techniques * Perfect for the generalist who does not require an exhaustive orthopedic text * Special sections on injection techniques in each chapter
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition by
The definitive guide to field of Hospital Medicine - updated, streamlined, and redesigned Presented in full color and enhanced by more than 600 illustrations, this authoritative text provides a solid background in all the important clinical, organizational, and administrative areas now required for the practice of hospital medicine. The goal of the book is provide trainees, junior and senior clinicians, and other professionals with a comprehensive resource that they can use to improve care processes and performance in the hospitals that serve their communities. The second edition has been completely updated to reflect the field's latest trends and issues, such as value-based medicine, bedside clinical reasoning, and hospitalist care in the post-acute care setting. The book is also enhanced by an improved interior design and a more streamlined presentation. · Each chapter opens with boxed Key Clinical Questions that are addressed in the text and hundreds of tables encapsulate important information · Case studies demonstrate how to apply the concepts covered in the text directly to the hospitalized patient
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition by
"This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine A Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The book that belongs in the pocket of every clinician working in an acute care setting A Doody's Core Title for 2019! This portable manual encapsulates the most clinically relevant content of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition - the world's bestselling text on the topic -- and puts it at your fingertips, or in your pocket or backpack. Covering the full spectrum of emergency medicine in all patient populations - adult and pediatric - this full-color guide is composed of concise chapters that focus on clinical features, diagnosis and differential, and emergency management and disposition. Packing a remarkable amount of information in a compact, full-color presentation, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition is enhanced by contributors from across the globe. Numerous tables and full-color photographs and illustrations enrich the text and help you deliver skillful and timely patient care. This new edition includes extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest guidelines, evidence-based protocols, and relevant research.
Understanding Value Based Healthcare by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide outstanding patient care while navigating the complexities of healthcare reform with this comprehensive, engagingly written guide A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Read what your colleagues are saying about Understanding Value-Based Healthcare: "The book is a masterful primer for all clinicians--especially those of us hoping to navigate the transition from volume-based healthcare to value-based healthcare without running aground." Atul Gawande, MD, MPH. Surgeon, Professor, and author of Being Mortal and The Checklist Manifesto"This book is an instant classic. It masterfully summarizes and makes accessible a mountain of relevant health care delivery research. And it gives front-line clinicians and other health care leaders a raft of practical ideas to help make care dramatically safer, more patient-focused, and more affordable." Donald Berwick, MD President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement"What is value? Why is it so hard to achieve in healthcare, when it is the standard in most other industries? How can we overcome the obstacles and achieve a value-based system? With dozens of real-life stories of encounters with our broken health system, this book offers valuable insights into these questions and more. It is a must-read for everyone from student to frontline clinician to system leader who wants to contribute to the successful transformation to value-based care." Vivian Lee, PhD, MD, MBA CEO, University of Utah Healthcare Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is a succinct, interestingly written primer on the core issues involved in maximizing the efficacy and outcomes of medical care when cost is a factor in the decision-making process. Written by internationally recognized experts on cost- and value-based healthcare, this timely book delivers practical and clinically focused guidance on one of the most debated topics in medicine and medicine administration today. Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is divided into three sections: Section 1 Introduction to Value in Healthcare lays the groundwork for understanding this complex topic. Coverage includes the current state of healthcare costs and waste in the USA, the challenges of understanding healthcare pricing, ethics of cost-conscious care, and more. Section 2 Causes of Waste covers important issues such as variation in resource utilization, the role of technology diffusion, lost opportunities to deliver value, and barriers to providing high-value care. Section 3 Solutions and Tools discusses teaching cost awareness and evidence-based medicine, the role of patients, high-value medication prescribing, screening and prevention, incentives, and implementing value-based initiatives. The authors include valuable case studies within each chapter to demonstrate how the material relates to real-world situations faced by clinicians on a daily basis. .
Williams Gynecology, Fourth Edition by
The only gynecological text of its kind--this combined medical reference and surgical procedural atlas gets you fully up to date on everything you need to know Doody's Core Titles for 2022! Illustrated cover to cover, Williams Gynecology delivers comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of the full spectrum of gynecologic healthcare and disease management--from benign general gynecology to reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and menopause to female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery to gynecologic oncology. Hundreds of original drawings compliment the text. Every chapter of this authoritative guide offers a practical template enabling you to approach every diagnosis and treatment consistently and accurately--while treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis boxes, and other features make finding the right answers quick and easy. The Aspects of Gynecologic Surgery and Atlas of Gynecologic Surgery section covers benign gynecologic conditions, minimally invasive surgery, surgeries for female pelvic reconstruction, and surgeries for gynecologic malignancies. NEW content on minimally invasive procedures, benign gynecology, urogynecology, gynecologic oncology, and reproductive endocrinology 450+ full-color figures depicting operative techniques Illustrated gynecologic anatomy chapter--invaluable for surgeons Covers a wide range of surgical operations--each one illustrated in painstaking detail A cost-effective option to purchasing two separate textbooks
Williams Obstetrics 26e by
The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists--fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach. New and updated content includes: Increased focus on Maternal-Fetal Medicine Greater coverage of hypertension and hemorrhage Deeper insights into in-utero complications Expanded fetal t section includes cutting-edge fetal imaging, genetics, prenatal diagnosis, and fetal disorders and therapy Basic science, physiology of labor, preterm labor updated with contemporaneous publications in the literature More obstetrical sonography figures Eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
|
Dania A Shah MD, Rustan Sharer MD, Dana Sall MD, Alethea Turner DO, Dmitry Bisk MD, Wesley Peng, Benjamin Gifford DO, Priya Radhakrishnan MD. "Racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic differences in primary care no-show risk with telemedicine during the COVID-19 pandemic" J Gen Intern Med. 2023 Sep;38(12):2734-2741. Link to article. |
|
Shiva Malaty DO, Alethea Turner DO, Priya Radhakrishnan MD. "Identifying state-wide health disparities in diabetes mellitus management in Arizona: Review of Healthy People 2020 Performance" Cureus. 2021 Jan;13(1):e12993. Link to article. |
HonorHealth Residents are eligible to take IHI Open School courses, including any from the 13-module curriculum for a Basic Certificate in Quality and Safety.
|
Interested? HonorHealth Residents / Fellows follow these steps:
|
* Courses of interest include:
|
|
Family Medicine |
|
|---|---|
| AAFP - free CME topics to AAFP members | AFP YouTube Channel |
| AAFP Board Review (Members Only) | Faculty for Tomorrow |
|
Pain |
|
|
Center for Innovation in Family Medicine (@Tufts) (free with signup) |
NEJM Pain management module (free with signup) |
|
Radiology |
|
| Geisel School of Medicine - Dartmouth - Images | |
| Radiopaedia - Quizzes with clinical cases and images | |
|
LGBTQ |
|
|
CDC HIV PrEP: prescribing PrEP (free with signup) |
National LGBT Health Education Center (free with signup) |
| NH Center for Excellence - Basics of HIV | |
|
Dermatology |
|
|
American Academy of Dermatology - Online Dermatology Curriculum (free with signup) |
DermNet NZ - (some free, some not) |
|
Cardiology |
|
| Life in the Fast Lane | Practical Clinical Skills - choose EKG graded quiz option |
|
AMSSM sports medicine ultrasound videos (free with signup) |
|
| CDC Public Health Grand Rounds | |
| Family Medicine Residency Curriculum (obtain login credentials from faculty) | |
| NEJM Rotation Prep | NH Center for Excellence |
| OpenWHO | Smiles for Life - modules on oral health |
| University of Wisconsin Integrative Health resources | UW Stout - Crash Course in Teaching Online |
| ABFM Portfolio Login |
|
Browse e-Journals to search for more |
mobile / off-campus access to library resources |
| Access Medicine: mobile access to a subset of AM resources |
|
Clinical Key: set up mobile access |
| Micromedex: set up mobile access |
| UpToDate: set up mobile access |
podcasts |
procedure videos |
frequently-accessed sites |
| ACP Bedside Rounds | ClinicalKey | Choosing Wisely |
| American Society of Nephrology | Access Medicine | Clinical Trials |
| American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology | UCSF Transgender Care Guidelines | |
| Annals on Call | National LGBT Health Education Center | |
| Harrison's Podclass, Access Medicine |
Browse e-Journals to search for more|
Tool / link if web app available |
Android App |
iOS App |
Information / links to downloads |
|---|---|---|---|
| Android download | iOS download | American College of Cardiology Foundation tool for making decisions on initiation of antithrombotic therapy | |
| Anticoagulation Manager |  |
iOS download | From the CDC. Designed for iPad. |
| ASCCP (American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology) | $ Android download | $ iOS download | Risk-based management consensus guidelines |
| BiliApp (UK) | |
iOS download | Neonatal jaundice charts |
| CDC Contraception App | Android download | iOS download | Recommendations for specific contraception methods based on a patient’s characteristics. Over 60 characteristics and medical conditions included. |
| CDC Vaccination Schedules | Android download | iOS download | Child/Adolescent & Adult |
| Epocrates | $ Android download | $ iOS download |
Drug information, guidelines, calculators. Free version available. Registration required. |
| GoodRx | Android download | iOS download | Prescription cost-saving tool. HCP specific website also available. |
| InfantRisk HCP | $ Android download | $iOS download | Texas Tech University Health Center. Evidence-based information about medications and their safety during pregnancy and breastfeeding. |
| Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) | $ Android download | $ iOS download |
Drug information, guidelines, calculators. |
| Manage Anticoag | Android download | iOS download |
American College of Cardiology Foundation |
| MDCalc | Android download | iOS download | Calculators and guidelines. iOS designed for iPad. |
| Medicode | Android download | iOS download | All resuscitation codes needed in one reference app |
| Preop Eval | |
iOS download | Guidelines for evaluating patients before non-cardiac surgery |
| Sandford Guide | $ Android download | $iOS download | Detailed antimicrobial stewardship guidelines and calculators |
| USPSTF (U.S. Preventive Services Prevention TaskForce apps) | Android download | iOS download | Primary care clinician support to identify screening, counseling, & preventive medication services. |